Life after NaPoWriMo

Life (and work) demands have come crashing in, this week.  The house is now ready (or as ready as it’ll ever be) to put on the property market (see previous blog post).  Thursday at midnight saw me stuffing ‘stuff’ into cupboards, clearing surfaces and dusting.  I barely recognise my study!  (See photo below for its usual state of organised chaos).

image

NaPoWriMo: the aftermath

I can only hope that the estate agent’s photos do justice to all this hard graft.  Now to keep on top of things, with prospective viewings in mind.  May is my favourite month in the garden.  Everything looks lush and new but brambles, field avens, willow herb and bittercress pop up again as soon as my back’s turned.

Can it really be only one week since the end of NaPoWriMo?  I did manage to stick to writing summat new, daily – usually from a prompt (thanks to Carrie Etter and The Poetry School).  My nightly editing sessions fell by the wayside, though, and I strongly suspect that my best and most fruitful work was produced early on in April.  And I still have pages and notebook pages to go through, at some point.  However, I’m quite pleased with the progress of the 17 poem drafts that did make it onto the PC.

I’ll definitely look to join a NaPoWriMo group next year.  Carrie’s group was an invaluable source of mutual support, inspiration and new-to-me forms and constraints.  I’ll certainly make use of these in future when I’m struggling to get started.

What I’m listening to: ‘Poetry, Pop and Rock ‘n’ Roll’, a two-hour programme recorded for Word Waves on 95.1 FM: three Leicestershire poets – Andrew Button, Maria Taylor and me – reading poems and discussing songs with lyrics that resonate; a kind of Desert Island Discs for poets, you might say.  The links are here and here, if you fancy a listen on Soundcloud (without the song tracks, though, due to copyright).

image

Finding poetry in the prose: I’m still reading the Sara Baume novel I mentioned in my last post (I’m either too busy or too tired to do much in the way of reading, at the moment).

Lines I wish I’d written: from Marie Howe’s ‘The Moment’:

Oh, the coming-out-of-nowhere moment

when, nothing

happens

no what-have-I-to-do-today list…

🙂

Out & About: in the garden, today (bramble-wrangling, mainly):

image

Leave a Reply

