On everything, very little and nothing at all

In a way, this post is not about poetry at all.  And then, in some ways, it is.

Those who know me in the physical world or follow/happen upon my infrequent blog posts at this site or read my all-too-frequent social network status updates may remember that , in January 2014, I had hip replacement surgery.  Now, in a bid for equality, my left hip is demanding the same rights as (erm) the right (and, after a life-time of differing leg length, I’m hopeful that surgical wizardry will bring about equality that respect, too).

So, on 3rd Sept (yes, on a Saturday), we (my wretched joint and I) are (jointly) going under the knife (sorry folks – am giddy with excitement).  It’s an understatement to say – we can’t wait!  We’ve had our hopes raised (an end-of-May op date) only to be dashed (said op deferred – nothing to do with an NHS in crisis and everything to do with a low blood count) but we’re nearly there, now: fourteen days and counting down.  Bring it on!

Increasing pain levels and decreasing mobility pretty much put paid to my original plans for the summer holidays:

Sunday sundowner session with Blanche and Thelma

 

 

My annual fiddle ‘fix’ that is five days of music-making, merriment and mayhem with friends at Burwell Bash traditional music summer school (my second enforced ‘gap year’ out of fifteen).

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

A day trip to London, its endless possibilities – the Royal Academy’s summer exhibition, for instance.

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

 

 

Keeping the garden in check.

 

 

 

Suffice to say it’s been a restful few weeks:

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

I will, sadly, be missing out on a few events on my poetry social calendar as late summer moves into autumn:

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Free Verse Poetry Book Fair at Conway Hall in London.

image

 

 

 

Last year’s swag:

 

 

 

everybodys-reading-festival-logo

 

 

Leicester’s Everybody’s Reading festival (nine days jammed-packed with events, many of them free, lots of them poetry/writing related)

 

…and, not least, sharing/discussing/workshopping poetry at my regular groups: Soundswrite women’s poetry group and South Leics stanza.

I’m hoping that cabin fever doesn’t hit me too hard (my husband and I will be effectively housebound for six weeks while I’m unable to drive).  I’m hosting a MacMillan Coffee Morning for a group of ex-colleagues (oh, how I’ll miss my coffee shop caffeine-&-cake) and I’ve already had one or two very kind other offers from friends. I’ll be doing the household shopping online for the first time (I actually like doing the supermarket shopping).

When the general anaesthetic and other prescribed drugs are out of my system I plan on doing more reading – a novel or two (Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch, for one), the odd poetry magazine (having renewed my subscription to Magma) and several hitherto unread anthologies are waiting in the wings.

Then there are the MOOCs I mentioned in a previous post.

And my physio exercises will take priority, of course – the key to regaining full range of movement and muscle strength.  And life as I knew it.

See you on the other side 🙂

 

20 thoughts on “On everything, very little and nothing at all

  1. The guy who did my hip replacements told me that after cataract ops. It’s the most life-enhancing procedure you can have. And it is. Four months after my second I did 3 walks of 10+ miles on Skye. I’d wanted to do them for 20 years. My daughter had both her hips replaced in her thirties! I was told I needed it when I was 40. Hung on for 25years. Idiot. So look forward to your amazing new mobile and athletic self xxxxxxxxxx fogs

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, John 🙂 I’ve missed so many PB writing days in Sheffield (not always hip-related) and am looking forward to hopping on a train to Sheffield asap x

      Like

  2. Hope it all goes well, Jayne. It’ll be well worth it. My Other Half is due to have a hip replacement, probably in October, so that will be our autumn pretty much taken up, and he’s not exactly thrilled at needing a new hip at 58, but that’s sometimes the way it goes. I’ve told him to think of Nick Skelton – didn’t do him any harm! At least you’ll be ahead in the recovery stakes. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Lilian 🙂 I’m hoping to be discharged on my 58th birthday (the 6th). Hope your husband’s op and recovery goes well x

      Like

Leave a Reply

